How Do I Look?
Shifting Representations of Queer Identity

a Juried exhibition @ dvaa Organized by Casa de Duende

Exhibition Runs: January 18th - January 29th, 2017


Public Opening reception:

Wednesday, January 18th, 2017 5-7pm

About the exhibition:

This juried exhibition examines personal, private, and public perceptions of the queer self and how these have changed over time. From the 20th Century’s early criminalization of homosexuality; Oscar Wilde’s trial; its medicalization as an Illness; gay liberation; the AIDS epidemic; to the 21st century’s overturning of Bowers versus Hardwick’s Don’t ask don’t tell, and the landmark supreme court decision legalizing same sex marriage.

How Do I Look? Examines these historical shifts in the context of our own queer communal perceptions of self as well as how society continues to view us. How Do I Look asks, important questions at the center of our personal, private and public perceptions of the queer self.


Juror Craig Bruns, Chief Curator of the Independence Seaport Museum, has a BFA from the Kansas City Art Institute and an MFA from Temple University’s Tyler School Art. He has been working with extensive collections documenting the rich maritime history of the Delaware River and Bay, two National Historic Landmark ships at Independence Seaport Museum since 2005. He has extensive experience creating exhibits at the Museum, including Disasters on the Delaware, Skin & Bones- Tattoos in the Life of the American Sailor, It Sprang From the River- Everyday Objects with Maritime Secrets, and Drawn to the River – Artists of the Pennsylvania Academy Capture our Regions Waterways. He worked with Dr. Tukufu Zuberi, chair of the Sociology Department of UPENN and host of the PBS series History Detectives, on the exhibit, Tides of Freedom – African Presence on the Delaware River, currently open and scheduled to run through 2015.

Participating Artists:

Aaron Kalinay, Alden Cole, Bennet Shipman, Cat Gunn, Corliss Cavalieri, David Meade Walker, Devon Reiffer, Ebony Malaika Collier, Eppchez, Gabriel Martinez, George Apotsos, Joseph Arnold, Kevin Broad, Santiago Galeas, Stiofan O'Ceallaigh, Susan DiPronio, Thom Duffy, Thomas Sonnenberg, and Willard Johnson.